Jefferson Bank Lien on San Antonio Office Cites 2016 $13.5M USAA Note
A new Jefferson Bank Deed of Trust on the Nottingham Office Building cites a $13.5M 2016 USAA note; the new loan amount is not stated.
Jefferson Bank recorded a Deed of Trust on Oct. 19 against the Nottingham Office Building at 250 W Nottingham Rd in San Antonio, according to Bexar County Clerk document 20260203851. The headline figure is not a fresh loan amount. In the instrument, the building’s ownership entity acknowledges as valid and existing against the property a note in the original principal amount of $13.5M, dated Dec. 22, 2016, and payable to USAA Life Insurance Company. The excerpt we read does not state a new principal for the Jefferson Bank financing.
Why it matters
Recital language of this kind, which names a prior lender’s note as an existing lien, usually appears when a new lender takes over or extends older debt, a common way to refinance a commercial property without a full payoff. That reading fits the filing but is not confirmed by it: the record could also mean the Jefferson Bank lien sits alongside the USAA debt. Either way, the filing shows the 2016 insurance-company loan is still tied to the building and that a San Antonio-based bank has now taken a lien on the same office collateral. The $13.5M is the note’s original 2016 principal, not its balance today, which the record does not show.
The numbers
- $13.5M: original principal of the Dec. 22, 2016 USAA Life Insurance Company note the Deed of Trust acknowledges (UNVERIFIED-AMT, read from the clerk’s OCR text).
- 2 parcels: the Deed of Trust covers two parcels in the Nottingham Office Building subdivision, Lot 5, Block 6, NCB 18206.
- Oct. 16, 2026: date the instrument was signed; it was recorded Oct. 19.
- 2022: year of the most recent Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation filing for the building, which lists the same ownership entity named on the new Deed of Trust.
What’s next
The new principal, rate and maturity of the Jefferson Bank financing are not disclosed in the excerpt, and the clerk index shows no release of the 2016 USAA lien. A recorded release of that lien would confirm a payoff or assignment of the older note; its absence would point to the two liens standing together. More coverage of the market: San Antonio.
On the record
Primary record
- Public recordThe Deed of Trust has the borrower expressly acknowledge a note in the original principal amount of $13,500,000, dated Dec. 22, 2016, payable to USAA Life Insurance Company, as valid and existing against the property, language consistent with a refinance of that debt; the excerpt does not state a new Jefferson Bank principal.View the record on bexar.tx.publicsearch.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulationtdlr.texas.gov/TABS/Projects/EABPRJB4816732